Archive | LNC RSS feed for this section

Geoffrey Neale and supporters campaign speeches for his national chair c…

5 Jul

Outgoing chairman of the Libertarian National Committee Geoff Neale.  He was defeated by Nicholas Sarwark

Chuck Moulton for LNC Secretary

5 Jul

Alicia Matson elected new LNC secretary

5 Jul

Diversity at the LP national convention – Arvin Vohra narrowly elected vice chair of Libertarian National Committee

30 Jun

Arvin Vohra was narrowly elected to be the vice chair of the Libertarian National Committee, in a 49%/48% tie with Sam Goldstein.  Vohra, who currently serves on the LNC, is a Maryland Congressional candidate and owns a tutoring and test preparation firm in Bethesda, MD.  Mr. Vohra has been active in social media for the LP and finding volunteer workers for the national office.

Vohra is the first Asian vice chair elected in the party’s 40 year history.
Vohra was endorsed by newly elected chair Nicholas Sarwark, a Denver area attorney and current member of the LNC.

A new voting system was enacted into the party bylaws and employed for the first time for the 5 at large members of the LNC, where each delegate voted on one ballot for which candidates they were willing to see on the LNC, rather than voting on each candidate separately.  The predicted result is making it much more difficult for “outlier” candidates who are passionately supported by a small group of voters to be elected.

“Starchild,” the long serving LNC member who is a San Francisco area sex worker given to androgynous and sartorially creative dress at LNC meetings and LP conventions, and known for asking “out of the box” questions at meetings and proposing populist measures like no floor fees and free attendance at conventions, lost his LNC seat.

Should Libertarian Party national convention delegate allocation formula be recalculated?

4 Jan
See the link below for an article on delegate allocations published in Independent Political Report. The author is on the Libertarian National Committee so I’m assuming it’s accurate.

Note that the delegate allocation depends heavily on the LP presidential vote in each state, ignoring state wide and local candidates. The formula could, and I think should, be reconstituted to include subsequent vote years statewide or local candidates. For example averaging the presidential vote percentage, the highest statewide race, and the highest local race. Virginia just had a candidate get 7% in 2013 and DC 6% in 2012. But their delegate count is based on Gary Johnson’s vote only.  (See the attached table in the article with the delegate allocations and how they are achieved.  I note that DC from 2011 to 2013 went from not having permanent ballot status to having it, from never having had a candidate get more than 5000 votes to having one get 17,000, from never having run more than one local candidate to fielding 7, and yet it has 3 delegates in 2013 – as it did in 2011).

The formula could also include registered Libertarian voters.

They also depend on the number of sustaining members in each state, so consider joining at

The convention is this spring in Ohio

Dr. Mary Ruwart withdraws from Judicial Committee

6 May

Mary Ruwart, who narrowly lost the 2008 Presidential nomination to former Republican Congressman Bob Barr, has removed her name from nomination to the Libertarian Party Judicial Committee. R. Lee Wrights, her non-State-sanctioned partner in life, was elected vice chair of the Libertarian National Committee earlier today and she said she did not want people to fear that the LP power couple would be influencing each other in their respective roles.